2002 FJMC Award
Home Up 2006 FJMC Award 2005 FJMC Award 2004 FJMC Award 2003 FJMC Award 2002 FJMC Award 2001 FJMC Award 2000 FJMC Award


Award Pictures

Fisheries Joint Management Committee Co-Operative Management Award Winner

for 2002

Brian Wong, DFO, Ottawa

 Members of the Fisheries Joint Management Committee (FJMC) are pleased to announce that Brian Wong,  Program Officer with the Department of Fisheries and Oceans in Ottawa has been awarded the Fisheries Joint Management Committee Co-Operative Management Award for 2002.

In making the presentation Vice-Chair of the FJMC, Don Dowler, offered the following: 

"Brian, the Committee selected you for the award to recognize the contributions that you have made over the years in implementing the fisheries provisions of the Inuvialuit Final Agreement, and particularly, for exploring the potential of the new concept that the IFA introduced; that the responsibility for the management of a fisheries resource could be shared between government and resource users.  The fact that the implementation has been successful is due in no small measure to your efforts to not only read the words of the IFA, but also to consider what was intended.  For that, and your many other contributions, we thank you."

Brian's understanding of northern fisheries issues is not surprising since he spent 16 years working with northern fishermen, first as fisheries development officer with the GNWT's NWT Wildlife Service, and then as coordinator of fisheries and habitat management for DFO. He and his family moved to Ottawa in 1988 where among other tasks he assumed policy-related responsibilities for implementation of arctic land claims, including the IFA.  In that position he has been a bridge between the commitments made in the IFA and the policy realities of a large and complex federal department.  Perhaps the best example of the challenges he faced was to muster the department's support and cooperation for the Aklavik HTC's bowhead whale hunts. Over the years, Brian has been a frequent guest at the FJMC table, and members have come to rely on his fair and frank advice.

This is the fourth time that the Committee has presented its Co-Operative Management Award, an award that is intended “to recognize an individual or group for significant contributions to fisheries co-management in the Inuvialuit Settlement Region through a single event or long-term contribution.”  In 1999, Jacob Archie of the Aklavik Hunters & Trappers Committee was recognized.  Lois Harwood, Inuvik resident and DFO Stock Assessment Biologist, received this honour in 2000.  The husband and wife team of John and Emma Alikamik from Holman, Northwest Territories were presented with last year’s award.


Copyright © by the Fisheries Joint Management Committee

Information Contact: fjmc@jointsec.nt.ca

Site Comments: Webmaster