2001 FJMC Award
Home Up 2006 FJMC Award 2005 FJMC Award 2004 FJMC Award 2003 FJMC Award 2002 FJMC Award 2001 FJMC Award 2000 FJMC Award


John's Work

Holman Couple Recognized for Their Contributions to Fisheries Co-Management in the Inuvialuit Settlement 

A Holman couple was awarded the 2001 Inuvialuit/Canada Fisheries Joint Management Committee Co-Operative Management Award by the Fisheries Joint Management Committee (FJMC) during a special public meeting of the Olokhaktomiut Hunters & Trapper Committee held at the Holman Community Hall on Wednesday, November 21, 2001.   

The husband and wife team of John and Emma Alikamik from Holman, Northwest Territories, was presented this year’s award in recognition of their significant contributions made over more than a decade to fisheries and marine mammal co-management in the Inuvialuit Settlement Region (ISR).  Fisheries co-management in the Inuvialuit Settlement has benefited greatly from John and Emma’s ten years of work on FJMC and Fisheries & Oceans Canada’s (DFO) annual seal monitoring program on Victoria Island.  Since 1987, John has also been actively involved in arctic charr fisheries initiatives in the region including his stock assessment work, harvest monitoring, and participation as a Working Group member in the development of the successful community-driven Holman Charr Fishing Plan. 

This is the third year that the Fisheries Joint Management Committee has presented their annual Inuvialuit/Canada FJMC Co-Operative Management Award to an individual or group for their significant contributions to fisheries co-management in the Inuvialuit Settlement Region through for a single event or long-term contribution.  In 1999, Jacob Archie of the Aklavik Hunters & Trappers Committee was recognized.  Lois Harwood, Inuvik resident and DFO Stock Assessment Biologist, received this honour in 2000. 

At Left

Back Row: Max Kotokak Sr., Don Dowler, Ed Mclean, Burton Ayles

Front Row: John & Emma Alikamik, Lois Harwood

At Right

John and Emma and FJMC members Kotokak, Dowler and Ayles are joined by FJMC alternate member, Donald Inuktalik


Copyright © by the Fisheries Joint Management Committee

Information Contact: fjmc@jointsec.nt.ca

Site Comments: Webmaster